Diamonds and Rhinestones

I lost the diamond out of my wedding ring.  It goes without saying that I’m fairly devastated about the whole thing.  First of all, it was not a cheap diamond.  It wasn’t insured.  But, it’s the sentimental value that is getting to me.  I’m fairly certain that it is somewhere in my house.  And while the diamond is big in comparison to other diamonds, in comparison to the world, it’s tiny.  There’s a chance that I may find it, chance upon it some day.  My husband offered all of the kids 500.00 to anyone who finds it (a small price in his mind).  And all of the kids looked feverishly to no avail.  It still could turn up.  I keep telling myself this.

When I was talking to my friend about the diamond and the fact that we had planned to buy new furniture, and that now that purchase may have to be on hold to replace my wedding ring, she suggested buying the furniture and just getting a cubic zirconia gem to replace my stone, a fake diamond.  If you’ve seen some of these cubic zirconia diamonds, they are pretty realistic, perfect clarity and cut.  To the naked eye they look real.  There are probably many of them floating around fooling us with their sparkle.  And am I capable of giving up the diamond for a piece of glass?

That’s what my husband did.  It occurred to me after the conversation with my friend that he had a diamond and he traded it for glass.  We women know, even me who has very little jewelry, that nothing compares to the diamond.  It’s the symbol of love and marriage.  It’s indestructible and beautiful.  Nothing sparkles like a diamond.  It is the hardest naturally occurring substance.  And it is formed under intense heat and intense pressure.  Nothing about it is fake.

And it cuts glass.

I may have lost the diamond out of my ring, but I am my own diamond now.  I was formed under the most intense temperatures and weight.  I thought I was glass at first, fragile, breakable but I have found myself to be indestructible.  And that was something that surprised me and thrilled me at the same time.  My husband was surprised as well, but not that I was the diamond, but that she was just glass.

He wants to wait a little while to see if my diamond shows up and then we will go ring shopping once again, and it will be a diamond, indestructible and strong, just like me.

FullSizeRender 10

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Diamonds and Rhinestones

  1. Beautiful! So hoping your diamond is found. Lost both of my rings two years ago and am excited that my husband is replacing them next month for our anniversary.

  2. Found mine when I washed the bed linens, it had fallen out while I slept. Had looked everywhere for four days, and given it up for lost. My friend found hers in the bottom of a purse that she was donating to Salvation Army six months later. Good luck.

    1. I took the bed apart last night. No diamond. I was hoping, because that’s the last place I think I had it for sure! My son looked through my purse the first day. I’ve looked in the car too. But, I’m not giving up yet!

  3. I hope your diamond is found. I can imagine how upsetting that must be. My husband wanted to buy me a diamond ring and all of this expensive hoo-ha when we got engaged, and I refused. I work with my hands as an Ophthalmic Technician, so I’m constantly banging my hands up against our machines at work. I went online and ordered a sterling silver ring with CZ cut for 40 bucks and I wear it as proudly as I would a 10,000 dollar ring. For me, at the end of the day, what I wear on my hand is a symbol that I belong to someone … and I don’t need something with a hefty price tag for that. Plus, no amount of money will ever be able to compare to the amount of love that I have for that man and for our marriage.

Leave a Reply

