Steve, the turtle, returns to my bizarro world

See this turtle:

IMG_6916

This turtle showed up at my house today.  My friend was picking me up and she almost ran over him.  We picked him up and moved him to the grass.  Four hours later when we returned back to my house the turtle had crawled back onto the driveway.  We almost ran over him again.  No big deal, right?  Wrong.  This is a turtle that we let go over three years ago.  Again…no big deal…..except for one, tiny, not-so-insignificant detail.  The OW gave this turtle to one of my sons several years back.  She liked to rescue turtles from roads and interstates.  He was one of her rescues and she knew my son wanted a turtle.

I remember the day well.  My family had been in the mountains and she called to let us know she had the turtle.  We met her in the parking lot of a home improvement store.  She was with her then husband.  My son was very excited to get the turtle.  He named him Steve.

The return of Steve today is odd.  We haven’t seen this turtle in years.  What bothers me the most is that I really wanted to text her and say, OMG…look who’s back!  And I couldn’t.  One of the tragic things about friendships and affairs mixing themselves up.  She would have liked hearing about Steve.  It’s the kind of thing that would have made her day.

So, the rest of us marveled at the return of Steve.  I told my husband over the phone.  He asked me to not let the turtle go yet, because he wanted to see him.  So, I put him in a box until he got home.  We didn’t say anything to each other, just telepathic language between the two of us.  And he put Steve in the grass to go on his way.

I looked up the symbolism of the turtle.  I don’t know why.  I do know that I don’t really think anything is random.

You can read what I found here:  http://www.spiritanimal.info/turtle-spirit-animal/

I have no idea if it means anything, but I guess I want to believe that it does.

wpid-Photo-20150511235435396.jpg

Leave a Reply

